Posted by: ritsukurimono | November 3, 2011

FO: Meisi Gloves!

Meisi Gloves!

My hands are always cold and I live in New England, so I basically live in woolen handwarmers from November through March. I knit a pair of Endpaper Mitts and a pair of Anemoi Mittens for myself back during my first year of knitting, but I’ve been wanting to knit some intricate twisted-stitch mittens for a long time. They just seem like the perfect marriage of beauty and function–you definitely can’t find anything like them in the stores.

So when the awesome bdelloura RAKed me the pattern for the gorgeous Meisi gloves by the queen of knitted gloves, Julia Mueller, they leapt onto my must-knit list. I cast on in mid-August with an eye to wearing them in Iceland during September, and I just squeaked in under the deadline–I wove in the final ends on the flight there!

I knit these in Cascade Heritage with Silk that I bought at the LSGversary 2 celebration at WEBS. I love knitting with Heritage; it’s such a workhorse fingering-weight yarn. It wears well, it’s soft, it’s reasonably cheap, it comes in a huge array of colors (this was Charcoal) –what is there not to love?

I did notice that the Heritage Silk pilled a little more than the Cascade Original Flavor I was used to, but not to an egregious amount. The silk content lent a beautiful sheen to the yarn in the skein, but I think the twisted stitches broke up that luster in the FO. The twisted cables popped like crazy, though. Put that together with the fun LSG Year 2 memories evoked while I was knitting these and I couldn’t think of a better yarn pairing for this pattern.

Despite their intricate appearance, these gloves felt like a breeze to knit (isn’t that the best combination?). Julia Meuller does a great job explaining the knitting process and her charts are clear, well laid out, and easy to use. I had to tink a couple of sections, but those were definitely operator error and, uh, from taking these gloves to a Pints & Purls night. I was definitely glad I already knew how to cable without a cable needle, though, or else these would have been a great deal more painful to make. I received a ton of compliments on them.

I would definitely make these again, and, well, I might have to, because I brought these home safely from Iceland, but they’ve now disappeared. They’re probably in my apartment somewhere, but no amount of determined tidying has turned them up yet. I live in hope.


Responses

  1. I don’t know what I like better – the gloves or the kitty. Beautiful gloves!

    • Thank you! The kitten was a farm kitten, really snuggly and curious. He didn’t let me hold him for very long, though! He had better things to do, like hanging out with his pony friend. :)


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

