Posted by: ritsukurimono | November 12, 2011

Homework and new textbooks

I’m pretty excited about two classes I’m going to be taking this weekend at my LYS! Shannon Okey is in town teaching at Gather Here, and I’ll be learning how to knit from sewing patterns and how to steek! It kind of feels like forever since I last learned a new knitting skill, so I’m looking forward to expanding my horizons this weekend–especially steeking! Colorwork is one of my favorite things to knit and I’d like to attempt the full-on Fair Isle sweater this coming year.

So the photo above is of my homework for steeking class! We’re supposed to bring in three swatches to practice steeking on. I’ve been promised booze for the momentous steeking moment (I almost wrote “momentous scissoring”, but that’s, uh…something different). And now I’ve written steek so many times it has ceased to look like a word at all. Steek steek steek.

Neither class is full yet, so if you’re Boston-local you can join in by signing up here!

And yes, I treated myself to the Colette and BurdayStyle sewing handbooks over the weekend. More later on that when I have more time to pore over them like they deserve, but based on the peek I stole during my lunch break, both of them are awesome.


Responses

  1. Brunch at my place in Davis tomorrow


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

