Posted by: ritsukurimono | January 13, 2010

Test Knitters needed!

So the Boscage Mitts pattern is finished, and I’m looking for ~2 test knitters, at least one of whom has hands that are about 8″ around the (palmmost) knuckles. I can’t provide yarn support, but they require between 100 and 150 yards of heavy worsted weight yarn (Malabrigo would be a nice bet.) They’re knit on size US 10.5 or 11 circulars, depending on size.

Here’s the blurb:

These Boscage Mitts combine a deeply textured stitch pattern and a loose gauge, producing a satisfyingly tactile yet lightweight knit. They are fully reversible, with one side that looks like a diagonal mesh over thorny clusters of stitches, and a reverse that simulates orderly cobblestones. The mitts can be made by themselves or as part of a set with the matching Boscage Cowl.

With a round of only 24 stitches for the smallest size, Boscage Mitts whip up in no time, perfect for last minute gifts. They are also great for using up leftovers.

Boscage uses a tubular caston and bindoff for a professionally-finished appearance, as well as two stitch patterns to produce a mirrored pair of knits. Resources for the caston can be found here. The bindoff is described at the end of the pattern.

I’d like the knits to be completed by the end of January, and I would like good, focused, modelled shots of the mitts–alternatively, you can mail them to me and I’ll take pictures and then mail them back.

In the interests of keeping money within the LSG economy, I’m offering compensation in the form of 1 gift set of test knitter’s choice from Sweet Libertine, or 1 4oz Shea Mousse and 1 4oz Shea Smoother from Paradoxicality. In addition, a $10 donation will be made to the Red Cross in your name. Also, my love and eternal admiration!

If you’re interested, please drop me a comment below with the size of your hand around the knuckles, or email me at ritsukanashi at gmail dot com. I guess if there’s more interest than I expected, I’ll random-number it? Let’s say by tomorrow (1/14), noon.

Thank you!


Responses

  1. I am definitely interested!

    • Thanks! Could you tell me what size your hands are, around the knuckles? I forgot to add that to my post.

      • Almost exactly 8″!

  2. I will happily volunteer! 🙂

  3. I’d love to! My knuckles are 7″ (I have little hands. . . )

  4. I’d love to if you’re still looking. My hands are 7.25 inches around the knuckles.

  5. I’m in. 7.5″ around the knuckles.

  6. If you need another knitter, I’m 7.25″ around.

  7. i’d love to knit these up! 7.5″

  8. another volunteer with smaller hands here – mine are 7″ around the knuckles…

  9. I’m happy to test knit – 8″ around.

  10. I would love to do this! I’m 8 1/16″.

  11. Is it just me, or is measuring knuckles hard? I’m 7.25″.

  12. My hands are 7.5″ at the knuckles, and I also have a boy around here who has hands that are 9″ who would gladly wear a pair that I test knit.

    Thanks, and boy are those LOVELY mitts!

  13. 7.5 inches around the knuckles and I’ve got some spare time to share 🙂

  14. I would love to test knit these! I have some Malabrigo that I was planning on finding a mitt pattern for. My size is 7 3/8″.

  15. I would love to do these (I’ve been looking for an excuse to knit fingerless mitts). I’m just a titch under 8″ around the widest part of my hand (and if these are done a bit loose, then we’ll say 7.75″ because I’m a tighter knitter).

  16. If needing still, I have exactly 8 inch circumferenced hands and am a photog 😉

  17. Hey, why not? 7.25″ around the knucks. Whee! The stitch pattern is so rustic and pretty!

  18. I take it back… 7 1/4 inches… Measuring tape was folded on itself. Good times. I promise I am much more capable than this and have yummy malabrigo that needs a project!

  19. I’d love to test these for you 🙂

    I’m 6.5 inches around the knuckle and I’ve got yarn and time to spare 🙂

  20. I am a member of the ittybittyknuckle club (7″) and it’s refreshing to be ittybitty in something! I would love to help you out and have plenty of yarn from which to choose.

  21. I have some pretty orange Malabrigo somewhere that’s just waiting for the prefect pattern!

    My hands are just over 7″, but my moms are 7.5″ and my sister is just about 8″, so I could knit any size for you.

  22. I’m interested if you still need test knitters, my hand is 6.75 inches around the knuckles. =D


Leave a Reply

Categories

