Posted by: ritsukurimono | April 16, 2010

Cashmere is fantastic!

I’m a total believer in the magic of blocking.

I’m also a total believer in ironing your knits to finish them, but that’s a matter for another day.

Today, I’d like to show off the difference that a good dunk in water makes, particularly when dealing with yarns with cashmere content.

Check that out. The stockinette in front has been blocked, and the ribbing in the back hasn’t yet. Look at the totally luscious bloom that happens during the blocking process! This isn’t even 100% cashmere, it’s a 50% wool 30% cashmere 20% viscose blend that I recycled from a thrift store sweater.

I’m making Bella Paquita (Rav link) by Marnie Maclean. It’s a lovely v-neck sweater, and I have no idea why it’s not more popular on Ravelry–perhaps because it’s a slightly older pattern, from the pre-Rav era, but I’ve been wanting to knit it for ages. I’m modifying it to be knit in one piece from the bottom up. We’ll see how that goes!


Leave a Reply

Categories

