Posted by: ritsukurimono | February 6, 2011

What I Did On My Vacation: An Annotated Photo Essay

It takes forever to get anywhere in California. This East Coast girl was not prepared to spend so much time in a car.
It takes forever to get anywhere in California. This East Coast girl was not prepared to spend so much time in a car.

My first visit to In-N-Out!
My first visit to In-N-Out!

The wreckage. Animal-style fries are Californian poutine.
The wreckage. Animal-style fries are Californian poutine.

The weather was GLORIOUS.
The weather was glorious.

This is the temple my grandfather came to this country to build.

The red tags are fortunes; you're supposed to write down your wish down and throw it up. If it catches in the tree, it's good luck. My sister's fell down...twice.
The red tags are fortunes; you’re supposed to write down your wish down and throw it up. If it catches in the tree, it’s good luck. My sister’s fell down…twice.

This is the temple my grandfather came to this country to build.


CLASSIC. Don’t ever change, Asian-dominated areas of CA.


ZZZzzzzZZZZz. I’m not one of those people who has any trouble at all sleeping in new places, but I had fun videochatting my LSG hoars from the hotel room. Didi makes the best Dramatic Chipmunk face!


SOUP BUNS! I think these are a Taiwanese (Shanghainese?) specialty. They’re steamed buns with a bit of broth inside the skin; you have to plop them down in your spoon, bite a hole into the dumpling wrapper, suck out the juice, and then eat the filling. Alternatively, you can poke a hole in the wrapper with your chopstick and drain out the juice into your spoon to slurp after you eat the bun itself. A touch of black vinegar and shredded ginger make them even more delicious.


Leave a Reply

Categories

