Posted by: ritsukurimono | November 1, 2011

NaBloPoMo and Iceland, Part 0

Leif Ericsson and Hallgrimmskirkja

So I semi-recently got back from a vacation in Iceland! There seem to be a lot of knitting retreats and such going there next year, but I booked my tickets before I heard of them. (Excuse me while I adjust my hipster glasses. There, that’s better.) I’ve always kind of wanted to go–not for any particularly deep reason, I admit.

Ritsuka’s thought process:

  • Public baths!
  • Cheap flights!

Once I decided to actually go, some itinerary points solidified immediately in my mind.

  • Eat horse again!
  • Eat whale (for the first time!)
  • Eat puffin (also for the first time!)

What can I say, I’m a travel eater.

But in part because there seems to be an uptick in interest in traveling in Iceland and in part because I bullied some friends (Little Red Bicycle, YarnExploder, and Mes Tricots) into doing NaBloPoMo1 with me, I’m going to be writing up a small guide to vacationing in Iceland. Some caveats:

  • This is not a comprehensive or even a professional guide. I’m just reminiscing about cool things I did in Reykjavik.
  • You could probably pack a lot more stuff in to your trip to Iceland than I did, but I like to eat good food, see cool things, buy yarn, and relax on my vacations.
  • I stayed mostly in the metro Reykjavik area. Iceland is full of natural beauty, but renting cars is expensive and I am not an outdoorsy kind of vacationgoer. We did have a car for two days to do the Golden Circle, drive outside the city and see the Northern Lights, and to visit a cashmere goat farm (THE. BEST. Go visit Iceland!)

If that sounds good to you, please stay tuned!

For now, enjoy this photo of a knitter laughing alone with Icelandic sweaters.

Knitter laughing alone with Icelandic Sweaters

1: National Blog Post Month, aka 30 days of blogposts. Anyone else doing this with us?


Leave a comment

Categories