Posted by: ritsukurimono | November 10, 2011

Looking back at stuff we’ve done

The Knitty Deep Fall 2011 surprises have been posted! I updated my review post here with my opinions about the new patterns. I was underwhelmed, particularly because it was otherwise such a strong issue.

But on more positive note, I’d like to draw your attention to a delightful post by Kate Davies over at needled. Her blog is pretty wonderful in general–she’s a designer, a rambler, and co-founder of Wovember, a month-long campaign celebrating all things wool! She recently revisited one of her previous FOs with an eye to how the garment was wearing, and I found her analysis to be insightful and fascinating. I’ll definitely check out Blacker Corriedale (the yarn she used and waxes rhapsodic about in the review post) if I ever get my hands on it!

I love the entire idea of revisiting old FOs. It’s true that Ravelry is a great resource for pattern ideas, project sizing, and yarn pairing inspiration, but almost all of the project photos are of brand-new, freshly-blocked, never-worn knitted objects. I rarely see any followup shots taken after the garment’s seen regular wear. Isn’t that important too? I love being able to ask the boards to recommend a yarn that won’t pill for a sweater, but having four people recommend a particular yarn without further explanation is different from seeing a two-year-old sweater that looks pristine.

What do you guys think? Do you ever revisit your old knitted objects to see how they’re doing a year or two down the road?


Leave a comment

Categories